Leading excellence in
perinatal and women’s
health nursing in Canada


The Emerging Leader Award (formerly known as the Rising Star Award) honours a CAPWHN member who, despite having practiced nursing for a relatively short time, is recognized by their peers as exemplifying the highest standards of service to perinatal and women’s health nursing.


    1. The candidate is a registered nurse, licensed in Canada.
    2. The candidate has been practicing nursing less than ten (10) years.
    3. The candidate is currently practicing in women’s health, perinatal or neonatal nursing.
    4. The candidate is a full nurse member (in good standing) of CAPWHN in the year of nomination.


A nurse who demonstrates excellence in practice that goes beyond the usual employment requirements. The candidate demonstrates early in their career, a pattern of individual contributions to promote the health of women, newborns and/or families. The selected nurse must:

    1. Demonstrate excellence in nursing practice that is reflective of evidence-informed and family-centered care standards.
    2. Act as a role model for nursing (through preceptorship of new nursing graduates or employees; by participating in the development of projects or programs; through committee membership and active involvement in the work setting or at community, provincial or national levels, etc.).
    3. Demonstrate an interest in promoting the health and well-being of women and/or newborns and families through nursing practice, community involvement, leadership, research and/or education of self, peers, or others.


    1.  The candidate must be nominated by a current CAPWHN member.
    2. A letter of nomination must specifically address the Selection Criteria as they apply to the nominee.
    3. The nomination letter must be accompanied with a current Curriculum Vitae of the nominee (and if selected, the Emerging Leader recipient will be required to provide a photograph for publicity).


The nurse selected as the 2020 CAPWHN Emerging Leader Award recipient will:

    1. Be acknowledged at the CAPWHN National Conference (September 24-26, 2020, Winnipeg MB).
    2. Receive a free 12 month CAPWHN membership.
    3. Have a letter of recognition sent to their employer.
    4. Receive formal recognition in the CAPWHN Newsletter.
    5. Receive formal recognition on the CAPWHN website www.capwhn.ca.



Please send nominations to:
Chair, Nominations Committee
email: admin@capwhn.ca
fax: 613-730-4314
or mail to CAPWHN, 2781 Lancaster Road, Suite 200, Ottawa ON K1B 1A7


The past recipients of the CAPWHN Emerging Leader Award (previously Rising Star Award) are:

2012 – Julia Wigmore

2013 – No award conferred

2014 – No award conferred

2015 – No award conferred

2016 – Lyndsay Martin-Kowalyk

2017 – Megan Fockler

2018 – Martha Paynter

2019 – Rachel Ollivier